Theta Pi Chapter leaders return from Pi Kapp College with valuable training, awards

Members of the Theta Pi Chapter of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity at the University of Texas at Tyler received valuable leadership training at Pi Kapp College for Chapter Officers in Birmingham, Alabama. On January 15-17, nearly 300 chapter leaders from across the Southeast received training in various leadership positions within their chapters.

Pi Kapp College for Chapter Officers is held each January in five regional locations: Charlotte, NC, Pittsburgh, PA, Kansas City, MO, Los Angeles, CA, and Birmingham, AL. Leadership tracks include Archon, Vice Archon, Treasurer, Secretary, Warden, Historian, Chaplain, Risk Management, philanthropy chairman, and Standards Board chairman.

UT Tyler students Sean Reinertson, Dylan Hayes, Chase Miller, Aristeo Hernandez, Matthew Thrasher, Shane Conway, Austin Doyle, Danny Diep, Gage Nippert, Jacob Van Der Schans learned effective recruitment techniques, how to live the ritual, making ethical decisions, and ideas for putting service before self. Students also attended various leadership breakouts: Using the What Are We Saying About Who We Are?, Leading Engaging Meetings & Tips for Effective Facilitation, Leadership Challenges Meetings & Tips For Effective Facilitation, Leadership Challenge Roundtables, Leveraging Your Leadership Experience in the Job Search, Motivating Your Members, Using The Ability Experience in Chapter Operations, and Advanced Ritual Debrief.

Several student chapters were recognized for excelling in 2015. The Theta Pi Chapter received the Master Chapter award for Branding and Communication as well as Campus Involvement. “I’m incredibly proud of this group and all the hard work that they put in throughout the year to make 2015 a success for Theta Pi,” said Archon Shane Conway. “I am excited to lead this chapter into 2016 and build upon the success that we obtained last year and show UT Tyler how all of our members are Exceptional Leaders on and off of our campus.”

Brothers Jacob Van Der Schans, Shane Conway, and John David McPhail were all recognized at Pi Kapp College for Chapter Officers for receiving the “David Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship” in honor of their hard work and dedication to our Fraternity.


What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s